2009 Christmas Tour of Homes
December 1, 2009
If the Christmas spirit hasn’t visited your home yet, the Natchitoches Historic Foundation invites you to an event where holiday joy inhabits every dwelling.
It is the annual Christmas by Candlelight, a holiday tour of uniquely decorated homes in the Natchitoches, La., area held this year on Dec. 9-19, 2009. Proceeds from the tour benefit the preservation of cultural resources in Natchitoches, La.
The event, consisting of three separate tours, will feature beautifully decorated homes. What makes Christmas by Candlelight so special and unique is that it consists of homes built last year as well as nearly 300 years ago.
$15 per package
$25 for a two-tour package
Three-tour packages are $35
Group rates are also available
Advance tickets can be purchased
at the Natchitoches Parish Tourist
Commission Office, located at
781 Front Street,
Natchitoches, La., 71457
or call 1-800-259-1714.
Tickets will also be available at each tour site the day of the event.
2009 NHF CHRISTMAS TOUR SCHEDULE*
Wednesday, December 9 and 16, 2009 (5-8PM)
The Prudhomme-Roquier House – 446 Jefferson Street- Service League of Natchitoches
This Save Americas Treasures property was built in 1790 of bousillage construction. An extensive restoration has occurred by members of the Service League of Natchitoches, who take pride in its elaborate décor as they ring in the Christmas season.
The Judge Porter House - 321 Second Street
The Judge Porter House is an impressive home in the National Historic Landmark District of Natchitoches, Louisiana. A Queen Anne influence in the wraparound two-story gallery blends with Greek Revival architecture reflected in the colossal columns on massive brick pillars. High ceilings, heart pine floors and five fireplaces showcase exquisite mid 19th century antiques and European cut crystal chandlers.
Rusca House – 124 Poete Street (Dec. 17 only)
A California Bungalow style house, it was built in circa 1920 by J.D. and Pearl Rusca. The house contains its original moldings, heart pine floors and butlers pantry, which displays more than forty Royal Duncan Santa Clauses. The house operates as a bed and breakfast and contains an elaborate garden.
Samuel Guy House – 309 Pine Street (Dec. 10 only)
This house of Greek Revival architecture was built in 1850 by Samuel Eldridge Guy. The house was the centerpiece of a working plantation in Mansfield, LA. Due to disrepair, the house was moved to Natchitoches in 2002 and completely restored. The house contains more than 5,600 square feet and is operated as a bed and breakfast.
Friday, December 11 and 18, 2009 (5-8PM)
The Scott Corner House - 104 Poete Street
Poete Street Condos – 215 Poete Street
Horse drawn carriages, stringed popcorn and cranberries, wassail, and caroling will take you to the Christmas of the 1930’s. The handcrafted and fully restored work of art that is 215 Rue Poete will enchant you with Christmas cheer and warm tidings.
Nakatosh Hotel and Don Theatre Condos
On the site of the Nakatosh Condominiums stood the LeCompte Creole Townhouse, the largest and most opulent townhouse in Natchitoches. It was built in 1822 by Ambrose LeCompte, who also owned Magnolia Plantation on lower Cane River. The townhouse was demolished in circa 1888 in order to build the Nakatosh Hotel, which thrived until the 1950s. The hotel remained closed for over thirty years until it was recently converted into condominiums, which overlook downtown and Cane River.
The Murchison Town House is located at 584 Front Street. This exclusive private home of Tom and Vickie Murchison affords a spectaular view,from the front gallery, of Cane River and the thousands of Christmas lights. It is located on the second floor of a former movie theatre. The building was constructed in 1914 as a opera house and movie theater. Its first name was the “Amusu” and later in the 1960′s was changed to the “Don”. The building now has been converted into six beautiful town houses.
Saturday, December 12 and 19, 2009 (1-4PM)
Secret Garden –330 Williams Avenue
As the last surviving hand crafted Dutch Colonial residence in northwest Louisiana, this 1924 cottage has been restored by local artisans. Over 10,000 sq. ft., it features hidden rooms, secret spaces and beautiful stairways. Family antique furnishings from area plantations and original art found during the seven-year restoration make for a memorable holiday experience. Open to the public for the first time in 84 years, each room contains a Christmas tree and decorations that feature different themes.
Cypress Place – 146 Cypress Street
Built in 1908, Cypress Place is a two-story, Victorian home that features a raised porch, high ceilings, and Victorian furnishings. The front parlor is original and includes wood walls and a patched wood ceiling. The parlor contains French and English antiques.
Bungalow House – 405 Williams Avenue
*Homes subject to change